3 April, 2009

Peter Rock: Off the Grid

I wasn’t able to write anything the last two days because I’ve been occupied with the business of countering misinformation on the political front. I won’t go into that in any great detail here, for now, since the day will soon be here when I must let that life seep through into this one. For now, I wanted to share a thought about a book I came across just now, by Peter Rock, that intrigued me. The title of the novel is My Abandonment, which already conjurs up the kind of intensely personal story that I love to read, and you can watch Peter talk about the inspiration for his book, below:

There’s a review of it at the Plain Dealer site. I stumbled upon Peter and his book while looking at possible locations for reading and going through the “best of the best” venues recommended to me by my West Coast writer-friends, so I would be remiss if I did not mention that I found this book on the website for Green Apple Books in San Francisco.

The story, about a father and daughter who live in Forest Park in Portland, OR, revolves around a Vietnam Vet suffering from PTSD and his 13 year old daughter, whom he raises to a superior brilliance while living in a dwelling they carve into the hills between the eight miles of trails in the park until the girl is discovered, unfortunately, by a jogger and life as they know it comes to an end. The way in which Peter continues to follow their imagined-true-life through his fiction is both interesting and recognizable to anybody who loves making up stories be they short, the length of novellas, novels or even door-stoppers.

In these times of over-involvement in each others every living moment, and where the kind of misinformation of which I spoke has the ability to turn peaceable people into blood-thirsty demons, the bittersweet tale of this parent and child who decided to purchase only what they need and tend to themselves in companionable solitude, feels like the correct antidote.

Leave a Reply

The Books:

The Books:

On Sal Mal Lane

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war.

A Disobedient Girl

A Disobedient Girl is a compelling map of womanhood, its desires and loyalties, set against the backdrop of beautiful, politically turbulent, Sri Lanka.


Twitter