18 February, 2013

Work-in-Progress Day

Thanks to Libby Mosier for alerting me to this effort by Beth Kephart (all the lovely people live in Philadelphia!) Oddly enough, this beginning starts with the same word that ends Libby’s excerpt: After.


After

The road that leads into Jerusalem embodies the contradiction within which he exists: Route 60. A $42 million dollar project which allows him, a Druze-Israeli to drive his brown car with the yellow license plates across it, bypassing Dheisheh refugee camp where he sometimes works, and into Jerusalem so he can visit the community center in the Shaykh Jarrah neighborhood in Palestinian East Jerusalem where he spends his evenings. If he takes it, he is on time. If he chooses not to drive, he is late. Late reaching the Domari and Arab and the few Jewish children who come to the Community Center for Reconciliation, and who wait for the blessed relief of his arrival, for the music and the joy of his company.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Work-in-Progress Day”

  1. Can’t wait to read the rest, Ru! Oddly, the title of my excerpt, which I didn’t include, is Before. :)

  2. Beth Kephart says:

    this is a very very gorgeous blog—altogether gorgeous.

    I’ve now been inspired to write something called in between. In the meantime, I wait for the music and joy, eagerly.

    • Ru says:

      Thank you for your support Beth! So very important to the self-doubting writer who rests at the heart and laughs at the bravado we present to the world. Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

The Books:

The Books:

On Sal Mal Lane

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war.

A Disobedient Girl

A Disobedient Girl is a compelling map of womanhood, its desires and loyalties, set against the backdrop of beautiful, politically turbulent, Sri Lanka.


  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta