9 January, 2013

Seattle, WA

Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) 2014
All the things I plan to do (by duplicating myself), at #AWP14 can be found here. But below is the schedule I will definitely be following on Friday. My all or nothing day which begins at 9 in the morning and does not let up until midnight.

Friday, February 28, 2014

Where Witness Meets the Page: Why We Write What We Write
Room 609, Washington State Convention Center, Level 6
9:00 am to 10:15 am
To bear witness to atrocity through fiction implies a commitment to both narrative and truth. In the social media age, atrocity often reaches us in 140-character packages. Conversely, witness literature focuses a wide narrative lens on the subject. Why write fiction over nonfiction? What moral and ethical questions do writers confront along the way? How do craft and truth intersect? Five authors with varying degrees of closeness to their subjects discuss how they bear witness through fiction.

Discussion with Lorraine Adams (Harbor), Julie Wu (The Third Son), and Nayomi Munaweera (Island of a Thousand Mirrors), Moderated by Naomi Benaron (Running the Rift)

Graywolf Press 40th Anniversary Reading
Washington State Convention Center, Room 615/616/617, Level 6
10:30 am to 11:45 am

In 2014, Graywolf Press celebrates forty years of publishing essential works of contemporary literature. From the Press’s beginnings in Port Townsend, Washington, in 1974, to its current roster of award-winning writers, Graywolf has been recognized as one of the leaders in independent publishing. Please join the publisher and director of Graywolf and these fiction writers, nonfiction writers, and poets for a reading in celebration of the next forty years of Graywolf Press.

A reading with Tree Swenson, Tess Gallagher (Midnight Lantern, New & Selected Poems), Justin Hocking (The Great Floodgates of the Wonderworld) , Leslie Jamieson (The Gin Closet), and Robert Boswell (Tumbledown). Moderated by Graywolf Press’s poetry editor, Jeff Shotts.

Story Quarterly, Mead, and Tran(s)tudies Reading
Velocity Dance Center
7.30 – 8.30 pm

Reading with Rosebud Ben-On, Mark Doty, Kathleen Graber, Jason Koo, Paul Lisicky, Deborah Anne Lott, Laura McCullough, Kamilah Aisha Moon, and Antonio Ruiz-Camacho

Elliott Bay Book Company
8:00 – 10.00
Celebrating 40 years of the triumvirate of independent publishing and bookselling: Elliott Bay Book Company, Graywolf Press, and Riverhead Press.

Leave it to VIDA
8:00pm – 11:45pm
Richard Hugo House

Reading & Celebration with Kate Libo (A Commonplace Book of Pie), Cheryl Strayed (Wild), Alexander Chee (Edinburgh), Pam Houston (Contents May Have Shifted), Nick Flynn (The Reenactments), Melissa Febos (Whip Smart), and Natalie Diaz.

Leave a Reply

The Books:

The Books:

On Sal Mal Lane

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war.

A Disobedient Girl

A Disobedient Girl is a compelling map of womanhood, its desires and loyalties, set against the backdrop of beautiful, politically turbulent, Sri Lanka.


Twitter