1 April, 2009

Denver, CO

Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP)
April 7th – 10th, 2010

Friday, April 9th, 2010
Room 106 @ the Colorado Convention Center
Noon – 1.15pm
700 14th Street, Denver, CO, 80202
Phone: (303) 228-8000
Panel: Writing South Asia—Issues of Representation and Identity. Samrat Upadhyay, Rishi Reddi, Anis Shivani, Gemini Wahhaj, Oindrila Mukherjee and I discuss the way in which writers from South Asia have taken the Western literary world by storm and how this recent popularity gives rise to new challenges. How do you represent contemporary South Asia in authentic, original ways and stay commercially viable? How do you write for a Western and a regional audience at the same time? How do you balance the political and aesthetic? Come hear writers of Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Nepali, Sri Lankan, and Indian origin read and discuss their fiction.

Friday, April 9th, 2010
9pm – Midnight
Women in Letters & Literary Arts (WILLA) Goes Live
Denver Press Club

There will be a performance by Burlesque Performers: Vivienne VaVoom & Cora Vette, both of Black Box Burlesque followed by readings by thirty-three writers including Cheryl Strayed, Antonya Nelson, WILLA founders Cate Marven and Erin Belieu, and myself.

Leave a Reply

The Books:

The Books:

On Sal Mal Lane

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war.

A Disobedient Girl

A Disobedient Girl is a compelling map of womanhood, its desires and loyalties, set against the backdrop of beautiful, politically turbulent, Sri Lanka.


Twitter